July 23, 2016

Side-By-Side Concert

Bernstein – Overture to West Side Story

Finko – Concerto Grosso for 4 Oboes (World Premiere)
Oboe: Ann Fronckowiak
Oboe d’Amore: Paul Schlossman
English horn: Sipkje Pesnichak
Bass Oboe: Sarah Hamilton

Hovhaness – Symphony No. 2, “Mysterious Mountain”

Foote – “Air” from the Serenade in E major

Copland – Four Dance Episodes from Rodeo

This “All American” program is right on time for President’s Day and features the world premiere of David Finko’s “Concerto Grosso for 4 Oboes”, a rare chance to hear four diverse instruments from the woodwind family that is not to be missed.  This evening also features the talented student musicians from the Southtowns Youth Orchestra, William Staebell, Director, in our annual side-by-side concert.